Thursday, March 26, 2015

Books Like Hidden Treasures (#SOL15, Day 26)

We Need Diverse Books (M.A. Reilly, 2014)

Yesterday I presented a workshop about how to prevent reading difficulties to a group of principals all of whom lead elementary schools in the Bronx.  I had asked Abe Barretto, Vice President of Educational Sales for Lee and Low Books, if he could provide some book samples with a focus on read aloud. Abe put together books and information about Lee & Low for each participant. I spoke with the administrators briefly about the quality of read aloud books.

I was surprised when Abe shared a thank you email that one of the principals who had been at the workshop sent him later that afternoon.  Here's a portion of it:

I was pleasantly delighted to see the presenter share your books as great books for Read Aloud to expose our students to world knowledge.  Your books are like hidden treasures ( I knew this 9 years ago when I first read a lee and low book ). Finally, the treasure is reaching a larger audience of students and educators.  Let me be the first to fill your bucket and thank you for sharing such amazing treasures.  I am sure you will receive many calls this week.  Have a lovely evening.

After I read and reread the email, I thought a long time about the graciousness that abounds; how we have been connected well before there was an Internet.

So in the spirit of the local publisher who makes sure that a group of principals leaves with some books to bring back to the children at their schools and a fine principal who recalls a connection made years earlier, I too wanted to share with you a handful of titles I routinely use for read aloud that are published by Lee and Low.  And I would agree with the principal that these are like hidden treasures.  The children actually cheer to hear and interact with these texts.

Here's the list with links to the Lee & Low website.



Kindergarten

From Unit 1: Concepts



From Unit 2: Neighborhoods

From Unit 3: Giving Thanks

From Unit 3:Reading and Libraries


From Unit 8 Contemporary Stories

5257492

Grade 1

From Unit 1: Going to School



From Unit 7: Birds

From Unit 8 Contemporary Stories
Main_large

By second grade many of the titles are used for both read aloud and then used with students in small group study with an emphasis on writing in response to text.

Grade 2:  Read Aloud & Small Group Study

From Unit 1: Himalaya

From Unit 3: Inspiring People

From Unit 8: Community

Unit 6: Contemporary Narratives
Unit 5: Mongolia







7 comments:

  1. I appreciate your thoughts on diversity in books. Where I work, the school is 99% white. I have tried to open teachers eyes to the fact that books can be a way to share other cultures with your students. It's an uphill battle, but I'm making small gains.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's a battle worth taking on. These stories are appealing, necessary, well written and beautifully illustrated. I think your colleagues and your students would love them .

      Delete
  2. I teach in a privileged public school - 99.9% white. It is SO important to expose these kids to books such as the ones you have shared - they live in a bubble of ignorance and entitlement.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Couldn't agree more. Additionally these books often speak about the human spirit that need not be race or economic-specific.

      Delete
  3. I teach in a privileged public school - 99.9% white. It is SO important to expose these kids to books such as the ones you have shared - they live in a bubble of ignorance and entitlement.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Love this list, Mary Ann--and the comments that have followed. Very insightful! And I love that you are sharing books from a small book store.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm glad the list is helpful, Deborah. Love this book publisher.

      Delete